Hosted Blog Post from Friend

I am sure that most of our elder family members, either parents or grandparents, have some weird connection with some of their possessions. Either a car that they daily wash, tender and take care of, or a collection of some china plates, or silver spoons collected from various trips/souvenir shops, etc. A “car” is the most usual epicenter of such a “humanization” if I may say so, with the owner upkeeping it to the point of no return, when even the seats don’t work and when there is a specific way you have to press down on the clutch and gear up, to make it work, etc.

I thought that this was THEIR thing, and used to make fun of it… And then, the following post comes and I abruptly realize that this is OUR thing, and that I am also caught up on it. So maybe it’s time to start making fun of myself as well… Although we have different obsessions, albeit laptops, cell phones, etc., I still keep my first Ericsson PH388 (No Sony back then, and “no” to even more things, like GPS, big screen, wifi, etc.). It’s not working but I do have it still. Why? I can’t throw it away I guess, cause it’s sure as hell not going to be useful any time soon!

It’s the same thing with my old laptops, etc. They’re all there, just as if I am going to try to make a back-to-the-future Delorean out of them, and I’ll be needing parts! But there’s this guy that is more than a glorified ragman like myself! He goes one step further, and keeps trying to breath life into these old decomissioned technological relics that others have given up on, a long time ago! Keep em coming Vassilis!

My personal blog / Το ιστολόγιό μου

I admit it; my Acer Aspire One 751h started collecting dust as soon as I got my WinTab; this tablet fulfills my needs more than I expected, so there is no use for the now Linux-powered netbook.

However, I recently managed to get my hands on some RAM modules that happened to be the same brand and type as my netbooks – but they were 2GB modules! I did what I wanted to do; I swapped the 1GB RAM module with the 2GB one and booted Peppermint OS 6 (the last Linux distro I installed) in order to check any performance improvements…not! Maybe due to the fact that the OS was installed while the netbook only had 1GB of RAM (so the swap partition size was set to 1GB), maybe not, no improvement was obvious.

Next test? Test the netbook for once more with Windows 10. Last time I tried them (netbook with just…

View original post 249 more words

2 thoughts on “Hosted Blog Post from Friend

  1. Σε ευχαριστώ για το re-blog! Πράγματι, είναι αυτή η γενιά που ίσως επειδή δεν τα έβρισκε όλα έτοιμα και σεταρισμένα, ίσως επειδή βαρεθήκαμε να τα βλέπουμε όλα στημένα και έτοιμα για χρήση, θέλουμε να βάζουμε χρόνο σε τέτοιες ματσακονιές…

    Στη συγκεκριμένη περίπτωση, ακόμη κι αν είμαι βέβαιος ότι πλέον δεν έχω χρήση για το netbook, με τρώει το χέρι μου να το φτιάξω, να το αναβαθμίσω, να το έχω συέχεια updated. Μήπως τελικά μεγαλώνουμε και γινόμαστε κι εμείς πατεράδες (κυριολεκτικά και μεταφορικά)? 🙂

  2. Μάλλον μεγαλώνουμε, αλλά και πάλι δε τα φυλάγαμε ανέκαθεν όλα αυτά;;; Νομίζω είναι το βίτσιο… Και δεν υπάρχει σωτηρία!!!

Leave a Reply

