Rewind to 2011: JTEL 2011 Summer School

αρχείο λήψης

This was yet another crazy idea that seemed impossible in the beginning but in the end it turned out to be an amazing experience. I remember attending the Joint European Summer School on Technology Enhanced Learning in 2010, in Ohryd, FYROM, thinking about how it would be to bring the Summer School to Greece. We brainstormed a bit with Nikos Manouselis on this and decided to offer to organize the school in 2011, in Crete, Greece.

The idea was warmly accepted by the JTEL Summer School committee and the countdown started for us to manage all the organizational details to be able to organize the school in Greece. With the help of Laura from Agro-Know, that has been an amazing help through all of this, we started working towards the goal of making this school an amazing experience for all.

We visited a couple of hotels together with Nikos M. in Crete and decided to host the event in Porto Platanias Beach Resort, where the manager, Ms Sofia Kapaki, helped us a great deal with all the practicalities of the school from day -200 to the last day of the event! From that point on, I can only remember a big “bucket” of things that we took care daily! Logos, t-shirts, rooms, equipment, program, selecting PhD students, assigning them into rooms, booking meals, arranging transports, etc. Huge excels, endless e-mails, phone calls, skype calls etc, that took up half my working day for at least three months leading up to the event!

How was it? Well, take a look at the video that we prepared along with my good friend Maren Scheffel, and find out for yourselves!

Surpassing our most optimistic expectations, the 2011 JTEL Summer School was characterized as the best one yet, putting a big smile on our faces! The school itself run smoothly, all sessions were held as they should have, anything that came up was dealt with on time and everyone enjoyed themselves a lot! I also managed to hold one session of my own, along with Nikos Manouselis, related to how Technology Enhanced Learning can help museums of Natural History take advantage of their digital content.

So, overall, this has been a sleepless, week-long, amazing experience where I got to work on everything that the school demanded of me, from organizing it, to handling practical issues, to presenting in it, handling taxis, emergencies, etc. I think that this was the first time in my life that I felt that exhausted!

Some photos from my Facebook account!

Highlights??? Not one, but many! One of the best times though, was the party organized the night before the last one… I have no details about that, cause what happens in Chania, stays in Chania… Those that were there, know what I am talking about! 😉

PS: Although I participated in the 2012 edition of the SS in Portugal, it’s been another two that I have missed since then, including one in Cyprus, and to be honest, I am really really missing it…

Leave a Reply

