Being an Evzon (Tsolias)

After enlisting in the army, I joined the training centre for Artillery Forces in Thiva, Greece, on May 2007. After receiving my training there, I was assigned to Mytilene, Greece, an island near the Greek borders with Turkey, where I served from June 2007 to September 2007, in the barracks of 126TE. There, I also served in the office of the telecommunications and management of the barracks, helping out with various day-to-day tasks but also re-organizing the schedule of shifts for the entire barracks, utilizing an excel planning sheet that I programmed.

2161504673_5728f5e3f4_b

Completing my time in Mytilene, I was relocated to Athens, serving in the Presidential Guard of the President of Democracy as an Evzon. During September 2007 I was trained and from October 2007 till May 2008, I honoured the Greek armed forces that “fell” during the years in battles, by standing still in front of the Greek Parliament for a total of 160 hours.

My highlights during this time were (a) the chance to see snow in Syntagma in February 2008 and also stand in the “white” Syntagma square in the tsolias’ outfit for an entire hour, (b) the change of year in December 2007, when I was on the monument of the unknown soldier when the year turned and of course (c) the training of the next generation of Evzones, during March 2008.

Taking my time to contemplate on my future, I finished my time in the army in May 2008 and I realized that this was the time to stop working on private schools like AXON, and continue on the path that started in the Agricultural University of Athens in 2005.

Some of my highlights and warmest memories can be summed up in the following photos…

2062135403_aae7b64250_o
Standing, time passing, guarding, paying tribute to all fallen Greeks
DSC00232
Standing, time passing, guarding, paying tribute to all fallen Greeks
IMG_7427
Standing, time passing, guarding, paying tribute to all fallen Greeks
monos
Standing, time passing, guarding, paying tribute to all fallen Greeks
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Standing, time passing, guarding, paying tribute to all fallen Greeks
Leave a Reply

